## Creating Leadership...Empowering Faculty...Providing Voice

## **COA Academic Senate Meeting Agenda**

## Thursday, 19, 2018 (12:00 - 1:30 PM, L237)

Executive Officers		ТІМЕ
Rochelle Olive (Div. 1) President	Establish Quorum Call to Order	12:00 PM
Maurice Jones (Fac. at lge) Vice-President	Review of Agenda	12:00-12:03 PM
Jeffery Sanceri (Div. 2)	Minutes Review & Corrections (2/15/2018, 3/1/2018, 3/15/2018)	12:03-12:10 PM
Recording Secretary	Treasurer's Report	12:10-12:13
Carla Pegues (Div. 1) Treasurer Senators Gisele Bousquet (Adj. Div. 2) Matthew Goldstein (Div. 2) Jennifer Fowler (Div. 2) Glen Pearson (Div. 2) Jeffery Sanceri (Div. 2) Maurice Jones (Fac. at Ige.) Carolyn Johnson (Fac. at Ige.) Carolyn Johnson (Fac. at Ige.) Carla Pegues (Div. 1) Robert Pettyjohn (Div. 1) Ann Buchalter (Div. 1) Rochelle Olive (Div. 1) Gary Hasbrouck (Adj. Div. 1) Marissa Nakano (Stud. Serv.) Jamar Mears (Stud. Serv.) Jamar Mears (Stud. Serv.) Robert Bishop (Adj. at Ige.) Katherine O'Brien (ASCOA) (From Title 5 Section 53200) "10+1"Academic Senate means an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters. Academic and Professional matters the following policy development matters: 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites 2. Degree and certificate requirements 3. Grading policies 4. Educational program development 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success 6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles	Announcement <ul> <li>COA Graduation-May 25, 2018,</li> <li>Emeritus Lunch-May 24, 2018</li> </ul>	12:13-12:18 PM
	Action Items: • Smoke-free resolution • AS 2018-19 Election Process (Senate Seats up for election and election committee appointments under current AS Constitution) #5,6 of 10+1	12:18– 12:40 PM
	Sub Committee Discussion Items: • Curriculum Committee Proposed (Updated) Bylaws Updates • Distance Education (Certification) #1, 6 of 10+1	12:40 – 12:55 Vinh, Curr. Chair Ann, DE Coordinator
	<ul> <li>Spring 2018 Plenary Updates</li> <li>Resolutions</li> <li>Papers</li> <li>Cleavon Smith, DAS President, was honored</li> <li>Sylvester Henderson (COA Adjunct Faculty-Music) elected to serve on the State ASCCC Executive Committee</li> <li>#1-10 of 10+1</li> </ul>	12:55-1:15 PM
	Public Comment- The public is invited to comment on items not on the agenda; however, any discussions of these items cannot take place as they have not been properly posted in accordance with the Brown Act. The Senate would ask that public comment be limited to two minutes per person.	1:15–1:25 PM All
	Agenda items for upcoming Senate Meetings <ul> <li>Topics as noted/listed in senate minutes</li> </ul>	1:25 – 1:30 PM All
7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities 9. Processes for program review	Adjournment	1:30 PM
	Next Academic Senate Meeting May 3, 2018 @ 12:00 pm in L237	